YSE offered an engaging and varied program for our virtual reunion, October 7-10, including time for classes to gather with special guests, opportunities to showcase alumni achievements and learn new things, and good old-fashioned fun.

On This Page

    Screenshot from a virtual tour of YSE campus

    Enjoy Anytime

    360 Tour of Kroon and other YSE Buildings

    Extend your visit with a self-guided journey through YSE buildings in New Haven and at Yale-Myers Forest. See new buildings, revisit old haunts and learn something new!

    Start Tour (also available in VR View)

    Kroon Hall: Lessons Learned from a Decade on the Leading Edge

    Join Sara Smiley Smith ’07 M.E.Sc./M.P.H., ’16 Ph.D, Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs, Research and Sustainability at YSE, for a tour through the School's flagship building, its sustainability features, and what we have learned as we've studied and worked in Yale's first  LEED Platinum building over the last decade.

    Sunset Ceremony

    An opportunity to remember and celebrate the lives of alumni who have recently passed with their class and family members.


    Schedule of Events

    All times are EDT. Links for all events will be sent by email after registration.

    Thursday, October 7

    6:30 p.m. – 7:45 p.m.
    YSE Alumni Association Board Alumni Awards Ceremony

    Introduction by YSE Dean Indy Burke

    Distinguished Alum Seminar: Nan Jenks-Jay, '86 M.E.S.
    Introduction by Professor Dorceta Taylor M.F.S. ‘85, Ph.D. ’91

    7:15- 7:35
    Distinguished Alum Seminar: Dechen Dorji '01 M.E.M.
    Introduction by Professor Tim Gregoire

    7:35- 7:45
    Prospect Street Award: Daniel Piotto '06 M.F., '11 Ph.D.
    Introduction by Professor Florencia Montagnini

    Distinguished Alumni Award
    The Distinguished Alumni Award honors the contributions and achievements of YSE alumni who have had distinguished careers and made significant contributions to the field of conservation, environmental science, and management. This year's awards will focus on members of the reunion classes (‘1s and ‘6s). Two Distinguished Alumni awards are given each year.

    Prospect Street Award
    The Prospect Street Award recognizes a graduate of the last decade (2011-2021) who embodies the spirit of YSE by having applied their education, energy and enthusiasm and demonstrated leadership, innovation and creativity to make a significant impact in their field.

    8:00 pm
    Alumni of Color Gathering
    Virtual intergenerational gathering of alumni of color, coordinated by the YSE Alumni Association Board Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee and alumni volunteers.

    Friday, October 8

    5:00 p.m.- 5:40 p.m.
    State of the School, YSE Dean Indy Burke
    5:40 p.m.- 6:30 p.m.
    Faculty Panel

    Dr. Luke Sanford -  Professor of Environmental Policy
    Dr. Nyeema Harris - Professor of Wildlife and Land Conservation

    7:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
    Reunion Weekend TGIF
    Virtual TGIF with alumni, faculty, students, and staff.

    Networking and building professional connections

    Social hour with new and old friends!


    Saturday, October 9

    Class Gatherings
    Individual classes will have the opportunity to gather virtually, with the option to have a special faculty guest.

    Class of 1981  | 10:00 a.m.
    Class of  2001 | 10:00 a.m.
    Class of 2016  | 10:00 a.m. with Joanne DeBernardo
    Class of 1975  | 11:00 a.m. with Professor Marian Chertow
    Class of 1976  | 11:00 a.m.
    Class of 1991  |  7:00 p.m.
    Class of 1996  |  7:00 p.m.
    Class of 2021  |  7:00 p.m.
    Links provided by email

    8:30 - 9:30pm
    YSE Talent Show
    Join us for the second annual virtual YSE Alumni talent show! The participation will be virtual, but the talent will be real!

    Been passing the time learning new skills, or brushing up old ones? Have a great COVID song cover? This is your chance to shine in front of a loving audience that can appreciate you only as YSE Alumni Can!

    More in This Section