Meet the leadership, faculty, and staff at the heart of The Forest School (TFS).

On This Page

    The Forest School (TFS) Core Leadership 

    • Mark Ashton, Senior Associate Dean
    • Gary Dunning, Executive Director
    • Liz Felker, Assistant Director
    • Sara Santiago, Communications, Outreach, and Extension Manager, Forest Fellow 
    • Lisa O’Brien, Sr. Finance Coordinator

    To learn more about our management team and governance group, visit our About page.

    YSE Faculty, Scholars, and Lecturers Affiliated with TFS

    Within the YSE faculty, there are 12 endowed professorships that are dedicated to forestry in perpetuity. Below you will find these faculty members among others who are affiliated with TFS. Please refer to the YSE faculty directory for more details on forest-related faculty.

    • Mark S. Ashton, Morris K. Jessup Professor of Silviculture and Forest Ecology
    • Graeme P. Berlyn, E. H. Harriman Professor of Forest Management and Physiology of Trees
    • Mark Bradford, Professor of Soils and Ecosystem Ecology
    • Paulo Brando, Associate Professor of Ecosystem Carbon Capture
    • Craig Brodersen, Professor of Plant Physiological Ecology
    • Liza Comita, Professor of Tropical Forest Ecology
    • Michael Dove, Margaret K. Musser Professor of Social Ecology
    • Marlyse Duguid, Thomas G. Siccama Lecturer; Associate Research Scientist
    • Gary Dunning, Lecturer, Global Forest Issues, Forest Sector Leadership, and Stakeholder Engagement
    • Eli Fenichel, Knobloch Family Professor of Natural Resource Economics
    • Eva Garen, Lecturer, Tropical Forest Restoration and Political Ecology
    • Bradford S. Gentry, Frederick K. Weyerhaeuser Professor in the Practice of Forest Resources Management and Policy
    • Timothy G. Gregoire, J. P. Weyerhaeuser, Jr., Professor of Forest Management
    • Xuhui Lee, Sara Shallenberger Brown Professor of Meteorology
    • Sparkle MaloneAssistant Professor of Ecosystem Carbon Capture
    • Robert O. Mendelsohn, Edwin Weyerhaeuser Davis Professor of Forest Policy, Professor of Economics
    • Florencia Montagnini, Senior Research Scientist, and Director, Program in Tropical Forestry and Agroforestry
    • Colleen Murphy-Dunning, Lecturer, Urban and Community Forestry
    • Joseph Orefice, Lecturer, Forest Management & Operations and Agroforestry
    • Simon Queenborough, Senior Lecturer and Research Scientist
    • Barbara Reck, Senior Research Scientist
    • Luke Sanford, Assistant Professor of Environmental Policy and Governance
    • Gerald Torres, Professor of Environmental Justice
    • Mary Evelyn Tucker, Senior Lecturer and Senior Research Scholar of Religion and Ecology
    • Yuan Yao, Assistant Professor of Industrial Ecology and Sustainable Systems

    TFS-Affiliated Faculty and Scholars

    • Morgan Grove, Lecturer, Urban Forestry
    • Lawrence Kelly, Professor Adjunct of Tropical Botany, New York Botanical Gardens
    • Fabian Michelangeli, Professor Adjunct of Tropical Botany, New York Botanical Gardens
    • Deborah Spalding, Lecturer, Forest Finance
    • Ina Vandebroek, Assistant Professor Adjunct of Ethnobotany

    TFS Center and Program Staff 

    Yale Forests

    • Mark Ashton, Director of Yale Forests
    • Marlyse Duguid, Director of Research
    • Joe Orefice, Director of Forest & Agricultural Operations
    • Matt Valido, Forest Manager, Forest Fellow
    • Adam Houston, Quiet Corner Initiative & Research Manager, Forest Fellow

    The Forests Dialogue (TFD)

    • Gary Dunning, Executive Director
    • Liz Felker, Associate Director
    • Lisa O’Brien, Program Administrator

    Environmental Leadership and Training Initiative (ELTI)

    • Eva Garen, Director and Principal Investigator
    • Gillian Bloomfield, Coordinator, Online Training Program
    • Karin Bucht, Coordinator, Africa and Blended Training Programs
    • Yukiko Ichishima, Program Manager

    Tropical Resources Institute (TRI)

    • Simon Queenborough, Musser Director

    Urban Resources Initiative (URI)

    • Colleen Murphy Dunning, Director
    • Chris Ozyck, Associate Director
    • Anna Pickett, Development & Outreach Manager
    • Caroline Scanlan, GreenSkills Manager
    • William Tisdale, Field Crew Representative
    • Matthew Viens, GreenSkills Program Manager

    Yale Forest Forum (YFF)

    • Gary Dunning, Committee Member
    • Eva Garen, Committee Member
    • Colleen Murphy Dunning, Committee Member