URI in the News

2014

Anna Ruth Pickett interviewed on Connecticut Fox News TV on April 22, 2014.

2013

NH Independent- July 12, 2013- Roots Planted in Newhallville- http://www.newhavenindependent.org/index.php/archives/entry/residents_planting_efforts_take_root_in_the_community/

NH Independent- July 1, 2013- "East Edge Gardeners" Claim Edgewood- http://www.newhavenindependent.org/index.php/archives/entry/gardeners_claim_edgewood_ave/id_59382

NH Register Elm City Express blog- April 4, 2013- "New Haven Rock to Rock Day of Environmental Service this weekend." http://elmcityexpress.blogspot.com/2013/04/new-haven-rock-to-rock-day-of.html

KRCB Public Media Natural Heroes- February 19, 2013- Building Community with Greenspace (video)- http://naturalheroes.org/tag/new-haven-urban-resources-initiative/

Yale Daily News- January 28, 2013- Ten Thousand Trees (GreenSkills)- http://yaledailynews.com/magazine/2013/01/28/ten-thousand-trees/

2012

NH Independent- Nov 23, 2012- These new trees can handle a flood- http://www.newhavenindependent.org/index.php/archives/entry/Flood-resistent_Trees_Arrive_at_the_Quinnipiac/id_52782

Sage Magazine- Nov 15, 2012- Greening the Hill (video) (GreenSkills)- http://sagemagazine.org/greening-the-hill/

New Haven Register- October 23, 2012- Tree planting initiative in full swing to beautify New Haven’s Hill neighborhood -video (GreenSkills) http://nhregister.com/articles/2012/10/23/news/new_haven/doc508761f8737e0473324333.txt

WTNH, Channel 8 News- Oct 23, 2012- A tree grows in the Hill Neighborhood- (GreenSkills) http://www.wtnh.com/dpp/news/new_haven_cty/a-tree-grows-in-the-hill-neighborhood

YouTube- September 11, 2012- Quinnipiac Walking Trail (video) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RQvQFfwuXzk

CT Mirror- Aug 20, 2012-  Task force recommendation: more municipal care for trees http://www.ctmirror.org/story/17250/recommendation-municipalities-care-trees-focuses-spotlight-volunteers

Yale News- August 2, 2012- A summer of learning about city while serving the community (Greenspace) http://news.yale.edu/2012/08/02/summer-learning-about-city-while-serving-community

NH Independent- August 6, 2012- “Serenity” Takes Root on Shepard Street (Greenspace) http://www.newhavenindependent.org/index.php/archives/entry/community_greenspace/

Yale News- June 18, 2012- Yale Group Restoring the Cherry Trees at Wooster Square-http://news.yale.edu/2012/06/18/yale-group-restoring-cherry-trees-wooster-square?utm_source=YNemail&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=yn-06-19-12

NH Independent- May 4, 2012- Spurning Builder, She Seeks Homegrown Remedy (Greenspace) http://www.newhavenindependent.org/index.php/archives/entry/homeowners_take_root_in_fair_haven/id_46826

Yale News- May 2012 Yale Day of Service in New Haven- http://news.yale.edu/photos/yale-day-service-new-haven?page=3

Daily Nutmeg- April 24, 2012- New Haven’s New Roots (GreenSkills) http://dailynutmeg.com/2012/04/24/urban-resources-initiative-new-haven-new-roots/

Yale Daily News- 2012- Yale Carbon Fund makes progress in New Haven- http://www.yaledailynews.com/news/2012/feb/16/yale-carbon-fund-makes-progress-in-new-haven/

Huffington Post- 2012- Green Jobs for Ex-Cons- http://www.huffingtonpost.com/colleen-murphydunning/green-jobs-for-excons-fix_b_1258235.html?ref=fb&src=sp&comm_ref=false

2011

National League of Cities- 2011- Case Study: Combining Urban Forestry with Youth Employment Opportunities (GreenSkills)-  http://www.nlc.org/find-city-solutions/research-innovation/sustainability

Yale Daily News- October 4, 2011-  Day of Service Leads Elis to Volunteer (Ozyck photo) http://www.yaledailynews.com/news/2011/oct/04/day-service-leads-elis-volunteer/

NH Independent- August 29, 2011- 47 Crews Tackle Tree Clean-up (Storm Clean-up, Ozyck and Greenspace Leader Berkowitz quoted) http://www.newhavenindependent.org/index.php/archives/entry/in_storms_wake_city_tackles_trees/id_39565#.Tlxg6IXYPzw.facebook

NH Independent- August 11, 2011- Greenspacer Turns Blighted Lot into “Treasure” (Greenspace) http://www.newhavenindependent.org/index.php/archives/entry/greenspace_tour/id_39011

New York Times- August 2, 2011- Prisons, Then Parks: A Therapeutic Journey (GreenSkills) http://green.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/08/02/prisons-then-parks-a-therapeutic-journey/

StamfordPlus- July 20, 2011- $55,000 in Grants Awarded for Prison Reentry (GreenSkills) http://www.stamfordplus.com/stm/information/nws1/publish/News_1/55-000-in-grants-awarded-for-prison-reentry13860.shtml

NH Independent- June 23, 2011-  A Tree Grows in a “Concrete World” (Greenspace) http://www.newhavenindependent.org/index.php/archives/entry/a_tree_grows_in_a_concrete_world/

WTNH- April 11, 2011- New Haven Urban Resources Initiative http://www.wtnh.com/dpp/ct_style/community/new-haven-urban-resources-initiative

2010

NH Independent- October 26, 2010- With Ex-offenders Help, City Expands Tree Planting (GreenSkills) http://www.newhavenindependent.org/index.php/archives/entry/as_city_expands_tree_planting_ex-offenders_help/id_30422

Yale Daily News- October 22, 2010-  Volunteers both help and heal in tree-planting project (GreenSkills) http://news.yale.edu/2010/10/22/volunteers-both-help-and-heal-tree-planting-project

NH Independent- August 19, 2010- “Geurrilla” Gardener Has a Plan (Greenspace) http://www.newhavenindependent.org/index.php/archives/entry/guerilla_gardener_of_city_point/id_28455

Environment Yale- Spring 2010- Urban Ecology (GreenSkills) http://environment.yale.edu/magazine/spring2010/print/urban-ecology

NH Independent- July 2, 2010- After Arson, Neighbors Replant on State Street (Greenspace)

http://www.newhavenindependent.org/index.php/archives/entry/a_tree_grows_on_state_street/#